James C. Wheat

In Memoriam


About James C. Wheat

It is with profound sadness that we let our clients and friends know that Jim passed away on April 6th, 2022. We, his Wadleigh Family, are heartbroken to have lost a great man. Our hearts go out to his family. Jim was a member of the Wadleigh family for almost 50 years. Beyond being an exceptional lawyer, he was an exceptional man. Kind, generous, thoughtful. He will be missed.

Jim has tried every nature of civil case in the state and federal courts in over 40 years of practice. His cases have included matters involving airplane crashes, surgical microscopes, all types of construction equipment and transactional matters, professional negligence of architects, engineers, attorneys, real estate agents and brokers and accountants, eminent domain, wrongful death, dram shop actions, personal injury, insurance coverage, products liability and a variety of others. Currently, he focuses for the most part on complex commercial litigation. He has also continued an active appellate process before the New Hampshire Supreme Court and the First Circuit Court of Appeals having briefed and argued over thirty cases. Prior to joining our firm in 1972 he completed a clerkship with the Justices of the New Hampshire Supreme Court.

Practice Areas
  • Litigation
  • Professional Liability Defense
Bar Admissions
  • New Hampshire, 1972
  • U.S. District Court, District of New Hampshire, 1972
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, 1973
J.D., Boston University
B.A., University of Massachusetts
Memberships and Affiliations
  • New Hampshire Bar Association
  • American College of Trial Lawyers
  • Best Lawyers in America, Lawyer of the Year, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Manchester- 2021
  • AV rated, Martindale Hubbell
  • Chambers USA
  • Best Lawyers in America, 2006–2019
  • Best Lawyers in America, Lawyer of the Year – Construction, Manchester 2018
  • New England Super Lawyers, 2007-2014
  • Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers
  • NH Bar Association President’s Award recipient for Service to the Profession
  • Member: USDC Federal Court Advisory Committee